Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | December 2, 2013

Post Thanksgiving Gratitude

I’m grateful for advice and time gifted by experienced writers:  Joy Stocke, Jonathan Maberry, Marie Lamba, the whole Liar’s Club, and many more. This year I, the late bloomer, am able to use the advice you’ve given me from your own hard won experience. This year my brain chatters constantly, pointing out “see, that’s what he/she was talking about”.  The echoes of your advice nudge me to notice inspired story twists and genius word choices in each new book I read.  

I’m grateful for all you bloggers, who weekly spell out secrets of what makes a good story. I need things spelled out. I need frequent reminders of what is good writing. 

I’m grateful I didn’t need much sleep when I started my adventures in writing. That extra time I had from not sleeping gave me the gift of writing without a deadline, without being judged, without knowing or caring if I was “doing it right”.  

I’m grateful (mostly) that I don’t have that kind of time right now. Long hours of work to make ends meet and determination to get my eight hours of sleep have forced me to focus on what are my most basic requirements to keep writing in my life. The secret to shoehorning one more thing into a busy schedule is to always be getting ready and being prepared for that free moment whenever it should happen.

I am grateful for a network of excellent writers that allows me to stay connected to writing when so much of my time and energy is forced in other directions. Thank you especially Kerry Gans, Nancy Keim Comely, Matt Q. McGovern, J. Thomas Ross, Tiffany Schmidt, Ed Black and everyone from our Revise and Sell workshop.

I’m grateful for all of the authors I’ve yet to meet who’ve figured it out already and write books that inspire my thoughts and imagination, and paint the human condition in vivid color.

I’m grateful for the creative non-writing ventures I’ve completed because now I see those experiences have added to my creative writer’s tool box.  

I’m grateful that I’m living in the 21st century and not in a time where I’d be limited by my terrible and painfully slow handwriting.

I’m grateful for all of you who take the time to read our entries here each week. Thank you!

Responses

  1. And thank you for all your hard work in regularly collecting such interesting and helpful sites. :-)

    Like this

  2. Lots of bad things are happening in the world, but we still live in a great time, don’t we? Just typing on this computer with Spellcheck is amazing!

    Like this


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

