Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | May 28, 2013

Truth

Truth.

For someone who is writing for a writing blog, I haven’t been doing a lot of writing lately.

I can honestly say that I haven’t had time. I’ve been running from one job related activity to another, prepping for jobs before I jump in my car before 8 AM, and when I get home at 10 PM I nod over other job related things on the computer until midnight. Maybe a stronger person than I would give up more sleep, but I’ve been there, done that, and won’t.

Yes, not writing scares me. Yes, it makes me wonder if I should step out of the wading pool. Yes, I feel guilty. After all a writer should write every day, have a schedule,and be productive.

But “should” is not a word that ever has worked well for me and it doesn’t seem to fit me now either. Besides that, I know myself to be the slow and stubborn kind of achiever – the kind who returns to the task after each distraction like a brain-obsessed zombie – not the fastest way to go, but apparently, my way.

So as I wait for a break in this craziness that is currently my life, my “writing time” is thinking time –  generating ideas and enfolding my mind around what makes a great story. I’m finally at the point where I both know enough and am able to remove myself from the story enough to see with more clarity what tools the writer has used so that when I have the time to write again I’ll be a (hopefully) “smarter” and more productive writer then before.

That’s my plan.

Leave a Reply

Categories

