Posted by: Nancy Keim Comley | June 18, 2013

I’m Going To Need A Bigger Book

In my last posting I mentioned that I have a new idea bumping around in my head. It’s an idea I’m excited about so, not wanting it to go small and boring, I outlined it before I wrote a word. I thought carefully, had my scenes go from A to B to C and made sure there were no plot holes.

The idea expanded as I outlined and went from an idea I was excited about to a fully-fledged plot that I could see, whole and complete.

I discussed the plot with a friend who is a successful writer. Ever supportive, he listened to my rough-draft ideas and even gave me some research suggestions. My outline was tight and I was excited.

The next time I spoke with my writing friend he said he had been thinking. He pointed out not a problem as such but more of a place where I was restricting myself unnecessarily. It was a major plot point he was questioning but, because he’s the sort of person who asks constructive questions rather than simply poking holes, I thought over what he said carefully.

He was right. I had, so to speak, plotted myself into a corner and given myself no room to expand.

It was difficult at first to expand, to push my creativity past the outline that was so clear and into this murky place. So I took my dogs for extra walks and thought. Ideas welled up. What if I expanded the scope of the threat, brought it into the house? Have it creeping up through the foundations?

Remember in JAWS when he says “We’re going to need a bigger boat?” Well, I found I’m going to need a bigger book. Or, rather, this has changed from one stand-alone to what could be a series. I can hardly wait.

Responses

  1. Congrats on your idea! I found starting with an outline first makes writing easier.

    Like

    • Thank you! I used to use only a rough outline but too often things went small and dull. A fuller, scene-by-scene outline is helping keep things exciting to the last page.

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

