Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | July 10, 2013

The Muse, Demons and Writing

I’m continually appalled at how much demon wrestling (self knowledge and navel gazing) this writing venture requires of me. It’s not the writing itself that brings out the feisty denizens of hell, but growth in general seems to require me to stomp demons. I sincerely hope your writing monsters are smaller and better behaved.

As a creator in other parts of my life, I’m a pantster, but as a writer I’m still fighting it. Yes that means I’m duking it out with outlining, again.

I don’t know why I’ve been thinking that creating as a writer is different than creating in other ways.  I think it’s that I have this deep-seated need to do things ”right”, to follow “the rules”, and, I’ve read a lot of books and blogs about writing, so I’m overflowing with writing “should’s”.

In defense of the authors of those blogs and books, the should’s are my own melting pot concoction of early lessons (faulty) and my own uniquely quirky brain.

Who gets to decide what the rules are anyway?

I ask, “What has worked for me in other ventures?” After all, writing is just one of many acts of creation in which I partake.

After that chat with myself, I admit that outlining my new project will be a losing battle. It always is.

On one hand, I’ll have so many ideas that I’ll tie myself in knots trying to organize them. On the other hand following a list will turn my brain into stultifying white static. So, I’ll finish my outline and then discard it, but the effort to organize, however flawed, won’t be lost. It will feed my muse.

(Do you hear that self? My outline will be a failure, so look forward to failure, it’s part of the territory of creation.)

In my spare time, I’m reading other people’s books with a mind to see patterns

Leave a Reply

Categories

