Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | August 13, 2013

Insights of August

 You don’t write because you want to say something, you write because you have something to say.” ― F. Scott Fitzgerald

A friend said something like this about the last thing I wrote and suggested I try again. I’m embarrassed to say it was an a-ha moment – A “D-oh, that’s my goal –  It’s not about completing the assignment, it’s about saying something unique” kind of revelation.

I’ve also continued to wrestle with how to refine my individual creation process into something a bit more efficient and effective.

I love all the writing information that is available for the picking because I need to see things spelled out for me on all those informative blogs I read each week. On the flip side, I look at all that great advice and worry about whether I’m doing it “right”.   I can tell you, though, that writing while worrying about “doing things right” paralyzes me.

My remedy is to use that information while reading and outlining and turn off the judge and worry while writing. I suspect writers who don’t trust themselves are inefficient writers.

It occurs to me that I must choose to trust that I have something to say and the skill with which to create this something out of nothing.

That emboldens me because, with those insights in mind, I remember that although I might be a writer in training, I do know how to create, and that’s all about having something unique to say.

Leave a Reply

Categories

