Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | October 1, 2013

Tote That Bale

Lift that barge. Tote that bale.  My life has been a lot like that lately. And my computer is down for the count.

That means writing and I have been at odds. That’s a problem since “writers write” and I can’t.

Since I’m confessing, I’ll tell you that my day job that I spend so much of my life doing is unsatisfying. Soul crushing enough that I’ve taken to making lists of Reasons Why I’m Glad to Have this Job just to get myself out the door in the morning.

At the top of my reasons list, after “I’m happy to pay my bills”, is that a constant flow of new tasks has taught me the value of slowing down to survey the landscape, taking as much time as necessary to see what needs to be done to complete a task before rushing into the fray.

This new skill is allowing me to form my most workable and successful story outline.

Next on the list, “the opportunity to glean the habits and characteristics from passersby and coworkers”. While my work is tiresome it does place me square in the middle of all kinds of people with idiosyncrasies and interesting tastes that would spice up the personality of the odd villain, vampire, or quirky heroine.

Finally, while my conscious mind is slaving its way through the tedious minutes, my subconscious creative mind has a chance to work on the problems I give it. How did that author of the most recent book I read get me to fall for the hero so quickly? What about that scene made me feel this way? How can I get the same results as that author?

I’m making progress as a writer and that gets me out the door in the morning.

Leave a Reply

Categories

