Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | April 29, 2014

The Writer’s Path – Write or Die

As blog week comes around again, I think that, if the Author Chronicles is a place to share my path as a writer, then I’m in trouble. I’m on a marathon of work like the devil, take a break, lie on the ground and recover, get up and get back to work, which doesn’t leave much room for a life, much less creation.

I think of you who would rather die than not write and the truth that as writers we all have jobs and families so we’re all leaking precious time to one extent or the other and I accept that I am still on the writing journey in my own way. Not because I’ve got to write or die (read or die maybe) but partly at least, because I’m trying to recreate the joy of my first writing experiences.

This week, one of my accomplices here at Author Chronicles sold a story inspired by a writing prompt.

The story I printed here during my last blog turn was the child of a writing prompt; In fact many of the short stories I’ve written came into being that way.

With a blog due and these similar experiences resonating through my psyche, I did a Google search for writing prompts.

The results of my search were not what I expected. Writing prompts were compared to eating vegetables, a necessary evil, medicine for writers’ block, and a waste of time.

I’ve always thought of a writing prompt as a game. For example: Here are two unique random words and forty minutes, write a story and be sure to include those two words or phrases. And because I’m me, I add one additional rule. Make sure it’s a story you like.

Because the prompt was my doorway to writing, I view writing as an act of trust, as all art and all creation is an act of trust, and because of the prompt I learned writing as a game, I have a visceral sense of writing as fun. That’s the sun in my sky that keeps me on the writing path.

This month I challenge you to write a short story from a prompt OR tell me why you’d rather die than not write.

Responses

  1. Actually, 3 of my 4 published (or soon-to-be) works were from writing prompts given in classes I took. I don’t do writing prompts on a regular basis, but I found that when I did work with prompts, I was able to let go of some of my inhibitions. After all, these were exercises, it didn’t matter how I did, right? By leaving my judgmental side out of it, I gave myself permission to take some risks and do things I wouldn’t normally have tried, including try genres I usually don’t write in. The fact that 3 of them have made it to publication may be telling me that I need to take more risks and give myself permission to experiment more in my “own” writing, to reach the next level.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

Categories

