Posted by: Matt Q. McGovern | August 26, 2014

Why do you write?

I recently came across a site where a publisher asked a number of authors why they write, and I found the responses to be very informative. As wide-ranging as they were, I saw their reasons as falling into three categories.

Some of the reasons were professional, based on financial or project related reasons:

  • For the money.
  • It’s what I do for a living.
  • Because I can.
  • It’s a job.

Other reasons were more artistic based, reminding me of answers a painter, sculptor or musician might make:

  • I like to create, and writing is how I can accomplish that.
  • Invention of new worlds, etc.
  • Make the world a better place.
  • Letting my imagination go wild.
  • Seeing the world in a different light.
  • Writing is challenging and always changing the more I do it.

The last category of reasons I recognized was from the reader’s perspective:

  • I write because I read.
  • Reading wasn’t enough.
  • I love reading so much so I want to give back.
  • I write because I want to find out what happens next.

The last answer has always been my personal favorite, and the one that really made me think about how much preparation to put into a writing project. For me, my reasons to write are in the last category. I wonder if the reasons that authors give change as they get more experienced.

What do you think, and what are your reasons to write?

Leave a Reply

Categories

