Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | July 6, 2015

Get Calm and Write

Life has been a bit overwhelming this year and recently when it was time to write I found my mind stirred by panic and as blank as an unwritten book. Nothing. There. Nothing.

On reflection, I realized the tornado of angst that had wiped my mind clean was my own doing, my own unnecessary agonizing over things that couldn’t be known, over things that I could defer to an expert for an answer. I gave myself a week to calm down and within a few days I again became verbal and curious about what others do in a situation like mine.

What if you don’t have the luxury of a week to get back into your creating mode? What can be done for more immediate results?

  1. Remember yoga. Breathe in, breathe out. (Think, breathe in, and breathe out). Repeat. Continue until calm. This is a form of meditation. For additional ways to meditate check out this wiki article http://www.wikihow.com/Meditate . A supporting action I learned in yoga class is to tense and release muscles one body part at a time starting with your toes.
  1. Write in a journal. Promise yourself you never have to reread these pages and feel free to shred them afterwards. I do. Here’s a blog article that gives specific ways to calm yourself via journaling http://www.createwritenow.com/journal-writing-blog/10-quick-journal-prompts-to-calm-your-mind
  1. Be grateful. As I and my partner have been dealing with our significant health issues this year, I had, early on, focused on gratitude. Goodness knows, these are bad diagnoses, but we were lucky too. It occurs to me, that I had, momentarily forgotten our good fortune. For more in depth thoughts on how this works, read this article by Daniel A. Miller http://tinybuddha.com/blog/how-gratitude-can-calm-nerves-make-you-more-effective/
  1. Other things that can calm are:
  1. Keeping a to do list, that way you can relax knowing you’ll remember everything that needs to be done at a later time.
  2. Both your body and your mind benefit from giving your body a workout.
  3. Talk to yourself with kindness.
  4. Count backwards for as long as it takes.

For my own life this week, I settled down by reminding myself that living life itself is an act of creation and, just like writing a story, the creator needs to trust that all of the necessary pieces will come together.

What do you do to get calm and get writing?

Leave a Reply

Categories

