Posted by: Matt Q. McGovern | August 5, 2015

The Attention Span of Our Muse

I was recently in a conversation with someone about the book I’m working on, and the question came up (to me): what’s your muse say?

It caught me off guard, because the honest answer was that my Muse wanted to write something else. 😀

I think a writer’s first book project can become mired in development, and that’s certainly happened with mine. I question its direction and its genre age, based on the writing style that I’m comfortable with. I don’t have a problem with this approach because it’s a blast and I love it. The experience itself is a journey and I’m proud of having it.

My Muse, on the other hand, may have written several novels already. 😉

Neil Gaimon’s Sandman series has a library in the realm of Dreaming that has books on the shelves that have only been dreamed and not put into existence. It’s my favorite library description next to the library in Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series, and I’m sure I’d have books in both.

But I answered the question in more detail, and ended up quickly writing several scenes of what my Muse was working on. Totally separate storyline than what my book was about, regardless of direction or audience age.

Personally, I think my Muse is just a reflection of me and what’s going on in my life. It’s the summer in the city but my Muse likes to dream of Northern Minnesota (I’m no fan of the heat).

It’s also a story and stories need to be told.

I don’t want to stop the book “project” because it’s been very educational, and I also haven’t gotten to the point where I’ve decided it’s time to move on from it.

I’m curious about the stories that are churning and bubbling in writers’ minds. Is there a time where a writer says, “Hey, I think this one wants to be written.”? How many ongoing works of writing are put on pause to let a lively snippet come to life?

What is your Muse up to?

Leave a Reply

Categories

