Posted by: Matt Q. McGovern | October 14, 2015

Writer Space

I’ve been house hunting for the last several months, and one of the criteria that I’ve been pushing on each property I visit is the office.

Okay, I don’t like the way that sounded. The kitchen was first. Really. I come from a family line that knows how to cook and I know what I’m doing in the kitchen. At the very least, I’m not afraid of trying, and I’m not afraid of failing. [so easy to say, can my writer me be like the me in the kitchen?]

I could continue onto other characteristics like central air, what kind of heating, what’s the backyard space, etc. The office is important but not because I like to take my work life home with me. It’s important because of the writing space.

It’s the library. My sister is also shopping for a house and wants a Colonial house. Any time you are searching for a house your dream house will pop up in your mind. In her vision of that dream house, a Colonial house is one of her preferred characteristics.

For me, the dream has a library. A room that has shelves covering at least 2 walls. While it’s true that what’s in my head when I think of this dream library is a stretch compared to what I will be able to put together (furniture-wise), this is what I keep thinking of during this house search. I don’t think about the outside of the house anywhere near as much as I do the inside, and what I can potentially make of the study.

The study. Office, library, study, cave, nook, workroom, studio, computer room, etc. This is the writing space, and a favorite subject of writers to share thoughts and pictures of, etc.

Writing can happen anywhere, but it sure is fun devoting space to it. 🙂

Responses

  1. […] Writer Space […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

