Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | October 19, 2015

Do artists need daily rituals to be successful?

Thinking about the importance of daily rituals in an artist/writer/creators life, so it was timely that I happened across a book entitled “Daily Rituals” by Mason Curry.

My life doesn’t lend itself to daily rituals. I don’t get up at the same time every day, have lunch at the same time every day or even have lunch every day. I don’t get home at the same time every day.  Sometimes I fall into bed within minutes of finishing my necessary work for the day. When I have extra time it’s often after weeks of no extra time, so I often play catch up instead of creating – soothing my sanity instead of my creativity.

So, with that in mind, am I doomed as a creator?

Frankly after reading Mason Curry’s book, my answer is, probably, but not definitely.

Most of the great creators listed in “Daily Rituals” had very strict rituals. They had gate keepers (often their wives) whose full time job was to keep people away during their creative hours.  Others simply spent every free moment not working their day job or caring for their children writing, which is in itself a ritual. A ritual, by my rather loose definition is, having a set of actions in place so firmly that you never have to spend any thought on what you should be doing and when,

Many took the time to eat three meals a day and to relax before and after writing, and considered those things a vital part of creating. They built those things into their rituals.

I don’t know yet how I’m going to create better rituals to maximize my time as a writer but I have resolved to stop feeling guilty for  taking time to exercise and create the calmness that comes when you DON’T  dash into or out of your day but instead take time for reflection.

Tell me about your writing rituals.

Leave a Reply

Categories

