Posted by: J. Thomas Ross | December 8, 2015

A Bit of Fun for the Holidays

It’s my week to post and since things have been super-busy for me, I had no time to think up, write, and revise a normal post. So, as I cooked, cleaned, traveled, waited, and more, I decided to do something a little different. Hope you enjoy it! (And feel free to sing the words aloud.)

 

The Twelve Days of Writing

 

On the first day of writing my true love gave to me
a laptop and an hour free.

On the second day of writing my true love gave to me
two doubtful looks
and a laptop and an hour free.

On the third day of writing my true love gave to me
three whining kids
two doubtful looks
and a laptop and an hour free.

On the fourth day of writing my true love gave to me
four brilliant ideas
three whining kids
two doubtful looks
and a laptop and an hour free.

On the fifth day of writing my true love gave to me
five writing books
four brilliant ideas
three whining kids
two doubtful looks
and a laptop and an hour free.

On the sixth day of writing my true love gave to me
six piles of laundry
five writing books
four brilliant ideas
three whining kids
two doubtful looks
and a laptop and an hour free.

On the seventh day of writing my true love gave to me
seven critiquers critiquing
six piles of laundry
five writing books
four brilliant ideas
three whining kids
two doubtful looks
and a laptop and an hour free.

On the eighth day of writing my true love gave to me
eight hours revising
seven critiquers critiquing
six piles of laundry
five writing books
four brilliant ideas
three whining kids
two doubtful looks
and a laptop and an hour free.

On the ninth day of writing my true love gave to me
nine editors editing
eight hours revising
seven critiquers critiquing
six piles of laundry
five writing books
four brilliant ideas
three whining kids
two doubtful looks
and a laptop and an hour free.

On the tenth day of writing my true love gave to me
ten lousy pitches
nine editors editing
eight hours revising
seven critiquers critiquing
six piles of laundry
five writing books
four brilliant ideas
three whining kids
two doubtful looks
and a laptop and an hour free.

On the eleventh day of writing my true love gave to me
eleven query letters
ten lousy pitches
nine editors editing
eight hours revising
seven critiquers critiquing
six piles of laundry
five writing books
four brilliant ideas
three whining kids
two doubtful looks
and a laptop and an hour free.

On the twelfth day of writing my true love gave to me
twelve more rejections
eleven query letters
ten lousy pitches
nine editors editing
eight hours revising
seven critiquers critiquing
six piles of laundry
five writing books
four brilliant ideas
three whining kids
two doubtful looks
and a laptop and an hour free.

Whew! Writing is work hard, but it’s worth the effort. Enjoy the holiday season and hang in there!

Leave a Reply

Categories

