Posted by: Matt Q. McGovern | January 5, 2016

New Year, new house, new perspective

New House, new year, new perspective

I just finished moving into my house a few days ago. The study is coming along though the amount of boxes containing books are going to take some time. I had to disassemble my desk to get it into the house, which renders the design of the desk (I made it) a failure. The only reason I kept it was because I already own it, and assembling it will be easier than assembling anything else. At least there’s no instructions for my current desk. πŸ˜‰

There are a lot of books that I can unload, but honestly it’s a problem I don’t mind having. There’s a joy in being surrounded by books. For all those that can reach their individual dream state the moment they set foot into a library, you know what I mean.

The cats are starting to get used to this new environment which makes me happy as well. The first things that were operational in the house (after part one of the move) were:

  • cat food & litter
  • tea kettle
  • computer (on kitchen counter)
  • shaving apparatus & toothbrush
  • shower curtain and necessities

Getting everything together and put away will happen in due time. Meanwhile, the writing space in my head has taken on new tenants since I’ve moved. My new neighborhood has new places and people to influence the muse, and I’m feeling new story fragments come out of it.

As I write the fragments down, characters are starting to show themselves, and I find that there’s a conflict between letting myself continue to write about the characters and continuing to get the other story fragments down.

There also seems to be a common theme for me and developing fiction. The fragments start in reality but things like magic and paranormal come later, as if I’m applying paint to wood. There are even some older characters that I’ve had in my head jumping in. I’ve always wanted to do a collection of story fragments but always eschewed it in favor of doing a more cohesive story. Maybe I’ll reconsider it since my head’s exploding with it nowadays.

Enjoy 2016 everybody and I hope it’s a great writing & reading year for everybody. πŸ™‚

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Red Crested Chatter and commented:
    As a recent transplant to my own new neighborhood, Matt’s story resonates today. Here’s to the muse!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All the best with your new environs: external and internal.

    Like

  3. […] New Year, New House, New Perspective […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

