Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | January 12, 2016

Resolutions

It’s that time of year again, January, a time for looking back and for looking forward, for making new resolutions, or renewing old ones.

Looking back, I didn’t do as bad as I thought I would, considering that this was a year to focus on health and not much else. I started the year with good habits. Let’s not talk about the middle of the year because it was consumed by the time sucking monster named Cancer. I ended the year as I started it. Perhaps some might call it a failure but I call it “can’t give up”.  I figure, if I keep getting back on the horse every time I fall off, I’ll still eventually get to where I’m going.

Resolution #1 Use my time well.

If writing is not our main job, I suspect most of us struggle to order our days efficiently so that there is “free” time to write.

In particular, I see looking at my month of January; I can have time to write or time to get ready to write.  So I resolve to get calm and relaxed, and writing at a moment’s notice. That means letting go of self indulgent fears.

Resolution #2 Create a regimen.

Creating a regimen, a habit of writing, is something I’ve concluded is like winning the lottery. It would be nice to win the lottery, but it’s not very likely to happen.

My extremely erratic schedule and long hours haven’t changed, but more and more I see how essential it is to do things regularly, to create good habits. So I’m resolving to create a habit of writing. Even (God Help Me) if it’s five minutes a day. Although, having said that, I don’t know if I can follow through on those 14 hour work days, but I’ll try.

Leave a Reply

Categories

