Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | July 12, 2016

A Writing Fast

I’m partaking of a writing fast.

It sounds counter intuitive. Writers write. Yet, although I’m making exceptions (like this one), I’m taking a deliberate pause in writing. This is not procrastination. It feels different. I imagine it to be like the way a growing child fills out before they go through a growth spurt and lengthen out. I imagine the weight of unwritten words grows and grows until they must spill out.

It’s an intuitive choice become a conscious choice. It started out as me picking up the pen to sort out my thoughts journal style. I put the pen down without writing a word, with a very clear understanding that if I wrote right then I would be perpetuating old thought patterns and writing patterns that I don’t want to reproduce. It’s time to grow into writing more efficiently and that to do that I need to take a pause.

Leave a Reply

Categories

