Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | August 16, 2016

Flaws, Perfection, and Steady Progress

 

I performed at Musikfest in Bethlehem this past weekend. It was a solid performance, I admit that, but it wasn’t perfect. Since there’s no better way to improve than to see oneself performing, I had a friend record some of our performance on my phone.

Despite getting a number of compliments (from perfect strangers, not family or friends), when I viewed our performance, all I could focus on was my flaws.

Today, I got an email with another compliment and sent a self deprecating reply only minutes before a friend whose opinion I really respect reread one of my old stories. “This is really good,” he said.

It may not surprise you to know that I found some way to turn that smile upside down.

If I was a character in a book, I could give you the back story of why I do that.  Since I’m not that character, I’ll spare you that and jump past the villain’s evils right to where I understand that I need to focus on my steady progress if I, the hero in this story, am to win the battle.

Leave a Reply

Categories

