Posted by: Kerry Gans | August 23, 2016

The Longhand Revision Experiment

Veritas Cover ArtLike many writers, I have more than one Work-In-Progress (WIP) at any time. I have sent out one WIP to beta readers, and I have FINALLY gotten back to my revision WIP, Veritas. I had not worked on Veritas since June 28th, which gave me all sorts of angst. But this past week I was able to revise 4,878 words—4 chapters.

One reason not being able to work on Veritas was eating at me was because I was in a pivotal point in my writing process. I mentioned that I have returned to writing longhand at certain points in my process. I began doing that last year, when I realized that I could not revise deeply on the screen—and the first chapter I revised longhand was Chapter 51 of Veritas. I revised in that manner to the end of the book, then started at the beginning. And where was I in the revision when everything ground to a halt in June?

Chapter 50. One chapter away from closing the loop.

This revision has been slow, as I expected. After all, some chapters I was writing longhand almost from scratch. Other chapters I would write longhand just the sections of the chapter that really needed more depth added. Still, it’s a long process when you’re dealing with an entire novel.

But this week, I closed the gap. And now that I am back into the section I already revised longhand, I can see that I will be faster from here to the end. Sure, there’s still places I need to fix, but I think they are all fixes I feel I can do on-screen.

Handwritten page blurredMy experiment into revising longhand has been a success. I see more depth, more creativity in word choice, more subtle character development, and a distinct change in my writing style. I still have to figure out at what point I want to use longhand when I start novels from scratch, but I will definitely use it.

What tricks have you learned that help you with the revision process? And if you use longhand, where in your process do you use it?

Save

Save

Responses

  1. I thought I was the only one using longhand at all. 🙂 I write most of the first draft in longhand. Once the novel is typed, I have found that printing out the document and making revisions on it in longhand is very helpful. I also read the entire novel backwards one paragraph at a time to catch issues I miss when I’m lost in the story and seeing what I expect to see rather than what’s actually there. I like you idea of deeper writing. You’ve given me something new to consider when revising.

    Like

    • I’ve been finding more people going back to longhand for at least some parts of the process. I think your brain just works differently when you have that tactile input. I don’t think I could read the novel backward, though–I’d get too confused! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I thought it would be confusing, too. However, I discovered so many things doing it that way. I only did it once. Couldn’t face it again, but it really worked. Enjoying your posts, Kerry!

        Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

