Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | October 11, 2016

A Reading Journal’s Value

A reading journal can be a tally and description of books read, including the reader’s feelings and impressions. While I love the idea of this, I’ve discovered I won’t take the time to make those notes in the wee hours of the morning when I finish the book or before rushing off to work the next day.

In the past I found it valuable to write down quotes and passages that spoke to me and notate ideas sparked by the turn of a sentence for future inspiration.

Journaling could also be a method to become a better writer, a place to make notes about what you have learned about your own writing from a book. Knowing you will write about a book encourages close reading, (something that’s always good for me).

As life became busier, I let my writing journals lapse but I’m considering the worth of  taking the time to slow down enough to keep a writing journal, this time as a way to become a better writer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

