Posted by: Gwendolyn Huber | February 20, 2017

You Get What You Get and You Don’t Get Upset

I prefer to write in longer stretches of time. I also prefer to write every day.

Life doesn’t cooperate. Life is very uncooperative. Most days I’m in survival mode and survival mode doesn’t allow for habits and rituals. However, If I break writing tasks into small enough pieces, I can occasionally tuck things into unexpected corners of some days.

I choose a goal.

Break it down into its smallest part.

Put it on my to-do list and make a plan for getting it done.

When it is finished

I make sure I know what the next step is and write it down.

…And on into infinity.

It’s not ideal but it does allow for progress.

As I tell the kids, you get what you get and you don’t get upset.
Leave a Reply

Categories

